Button & Lace by Penelope Sky

Description

I owe him a debt.

A big one.

The payment can’t be settled with money or favors.

He only wants one thing.

Me.

Every action gets a reward. A button. Once I fill his jar with three hundred and sixty-five buttons, he’ll let me go.

He’ll let me walk away.

But I have to earn every single one.

By submitting to the darkest, cruelest, and most beautiful man I’ve ever known.

** TRIGGER WARNING ** There are some dark and disturbing scenes of abuse and punishment.

My Thought

Ok, first of all I found this books in my library and they called my attention. At first I thought it was just one of those books with a lot of romance and sex on it. I wasn’t expecting what I had to endure reading this book.

what I like

This is my first time reading anything by Penelope Sky and I absolutely loved her writing style. She had a way with words andthe story drags you in from the beginning.

What I dislike

As much as I loved her writing style I absoluty hated the context of this book to the point that I found my self a few times while reading it debating on weather I would finish it or not. I know, I’m weird.

This book talks about sexual trafficking, slaving women, has a lot of talk of sexual abuse and violence. I could read a book with one horrible scene of a girl getting rape and not get as trigger as this whole book made me feel. The things that Pearl had to endure made me I’ll.

I can’t say it was horrible but I can say it wasn’t for me.

I give this book two out of five bookstacks 📚 📚

The Bucket List Tag

This tag was created by Serenity Books. I wasn’t really tagged by anyone but I really wanted to participate on this.

Bucket List Tag

I have seen this tag floating around and thought it looked like like a lot of fun so thought I would give it a whirl!

The rules are as follows:

  • Write the rules in your post
  • Thank the person who tagged you
  • Write ten things that you wish to do in the future
  • Tag 5 other bloggers to do this tag

Jingle Bell Book Tag

It’s time for the first holiday tag of the year!

“All I Want For Christmas Is You…” – What book do you want to see under the Christmas Tree?

I actually found out about The Black Witch Chronicles a month ago and I read them in less than a week. It was The Black Witch, The Iron Flower and some Novellas. The Shadow Wand is coming out next year and I cant wait! But I would love the others books as a present this year

“Simply Having A Wonderful Christmas Time…” –  What book that you have read this year have you enjoyed the most?

I can choose only one! This year I have read many awesome books! Is hard to pick! I can give you some choices

Elf – What book unleashes your inner child?

This most definitely would be The Never Ending Story. I absolutely loved that book since I was a little girl and I still do right now.

“It’s Beginning to look a lot like Christmas…” – Which book has most festive look to it?


This is the most festive book I have. I don’t really read Christmas books. Although I sing up to some tours this years. Will finally try some of those books 🙂

The Grinch – Your favourite villain…


Aaron Warner of course!!!!! Shatter me serious! He is yummy! ❤

The Holiday – Name your favourite TWO couples…


Yvan And Elloren Of course! Such a beautiful couple <3<3 ❤

What book would you like to give as a present to your followers?

I would love my followers to read A Monster Calls. Is so beautiful and heart breaking all at once. This book made me cry but I absolutely loved it!

This was fun! I want to tag people but I don’t know how. fell free to participate though.

Author Day

This is the first time I am doing Author day and I decided to start with the awesome Tahereh Mafi. I first meet her last year when I was introduced to Shatter Me. I became a huge fan after this book. Then I need it the rest of the series.

And Then in March 2020 we have the new release Imagine me. Look at how gorgeous it is.

I also found about others book she write and I cant wait to check them out as well.

About The Author

Tahereh Mafi is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the SHATTER ME series and her latest novel, FURTHERMORE. She can usually be found over-caffeinated and stuck in a book–or online just about anywhere at @TaherehMafi. You can visit her website at http://www.taherehbooks.com.

To Kill A Mockingbird Book Vs Movie

To Kill A Mockingbird is my absolute favorite classical Book and Movie. I loved them both. There are many similarities on both movie and book but we also found some difference and here they are;




  • In the book Boo Radley speaks one sentence to Scout. He asks her, “Will you take me home?” while in the movie he never speaks.
  • In the book Atticus walks Home with Jem, Dill and Scout after they confront the mob in front of the jail. But in the movie this does not happen instead Atticus tells them to go Home, and he sits back down.
  • in the book Mrs. maundy’s house gets on fire and boo Radley came outside and covered scout with a blanket. This never happens in the movie.
  • The three main differences are the absence of characters, the manipulation of major themes and the scenes that accompany them, and the variation of the point of view.

Tell me which one you prefer and why. The book or the movie? Honestly I love the movie but the book is my absolute favorite. So much that I have it duplicated. 🙂

The How & The Why by Cynthia Hand

SYNOPSIS

A poignant exploration of family and the ties that bind, perfect for fans of Far From the Tree, from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.

Today Melly had us writing letters to our babies…

Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for. They’ve given Cass a life she wouldn’t trade for the world. She has everything she needs—except maybe the one thing she wants. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can’t answer, no matter how much they love her.

But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for.

Alternating between Cass’s search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who gave her up for adoption, this voice-driven narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson.  

AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | BOOK DEPOSITORY

ABOUT THE AUTHOR



Cynthia Hand
is the New York Times bestselling author of several books for teens, including the UNEARTHLY trilogy, THE LAST TIME WE SAY GOODBYE, MY LADY JANE and MY PLAIN JANE (with fellow authors Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows), THE AFTERLIFE OF HOLLY CHASE, and the upcoming novel THE HOW AND THE WHY (Fall 2019). Before turning to writing for young adults, she studied literary fiction and earned both an M.F.A. and a Ph.D. in fiction writing. She currently resides in Boise, Idaho, with a husband who’s addicted to typewriters, two kids, two cats, one crazy dog, and a entourage of imaginary friends.  

PHOTO CONTENT FROM CYNTHIA HANAD
WEBSITE: http://www.cynthiahandbooks.com/TWITTER: @CynthiaHand
GOODREADS: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3290920.Cynthia_Hand
FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/writercynthiahand/
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/cynthiahand/

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e849f7751717/

My Thoughts

This was a very deep book. It talks about adoption, the reasons why some women might choose that path and also focus on family. Which it lets you know that you don’t have to be blood to be family. This book made me smile, laugh and cry. I loved it and I will love to read more books from this author.

I give this book 5 out 5 bookstacks

📚📚📚📚📚