My Netgally Shelf

I love signing for free books to read. There are some books that I fall in love or get supper interested on as a first impression. But later on I don’t want to read. This are four books that wont make my to read list. And four I cant wait to read

1) The Curse of Sara Douroux by C.A. Wittman

Description

A gothic tale of horror, secrets, and an unimaginable past…

In a remote island community, Sara lives with her deeply religious elderly parents. Discouraged from building friendships in school, she leads a quiet, secluded life, but when the family is forced to take in four mysterious young cousins, Sara’s world turns tumultuous.

Something wicked, something dark has Sara’s family in its grip. An insidious terror will soon sweep through the small valley where Sara lives, threatening the lives of her neighbors. In a race to learn the truth of who her cousins really are, Sara forms a tenuous friendship with an unlikely pair: Jenny, a shy newcomer to the island, and Sunami, a tomboyish local girl. As the girls discover a chilling truth, they realize to their horror that time is running out and some secrets should never be disturbed.

This one seem to have so many low reviews. I never really let that change my mind on what to read but I lost interest on this one.

2) The Old Man’s Request by Joab Stieglitz

Description

Fifty years ago, a group of college friends dabbled in the occult and released a malign presence on the world. Now, on his deathbed, the last of the students enlists the aid of three newcomers to banish the thing they summoned.

Hampered by the old man’s greedy son, the wizened director of the university library, and a private investigator with a troubled past, can Russian anthropologist Anna Rykov, Doctor Harry Lamb, and Father Sean O’Malley gather the knowledge and resources needed to defeat the entity?

The Old Man’s Request is a pulp adventure set in the 1920s, and the first part of the Utgarda Trilogy.

This one just didn’t held my attention. I got bored with it and I DNF it.

3) Grace, Not Perfection. Embracing Simplicity, Celebrating Joy by Emily Ley

Description

I will hold myself to a standard of grace, not perfection.

As a busy wife, new mother, business owner, and designer, Emily Ley came to a point when she suddenly realized she couldn’t do it all. She needed to simplify her life, organize her days, and prioritize the priorities. She decided to hold herself to a standard of grace rather than perfection. This mantra led to the creation of her bestselling Simplified Planner®, a favorite among busy women everywhere—from mamas to executives and everywhere in between.

Grace, Not Perfection takes this message from a daily planner to an inspirational book that encourages women to simplify and prioritize. Designed with Emily Ley’s signature aesthetic, this book gives women tangible ways to simplify their lives to give space to what matters most. With a focus on faith, Emily reminds readers that God abundantly pours out grace on us—and that surely we can extend grace to ourselves.

Have you been told you can have it all, only to end up exhausted and occasionally out of sorts with the people you love? Are you ready for a new way of seeing your time? Learn to live a little more simply. Hold yourself and those you love to a more life-giving standard in Grace Not Perfection,and allow that grace to seep into your days, your family, and your heart.

Cute Story, Cute cover but definitely not my type of book. I gave it a try but it didn’t held my attention

4. Cherry Scones & Broken Bones. A Very Cherry Mystery #2 by Darci Hannah

At the Cherry Orchard Inn, “Cherry scones to die for” turns out to be all too true

Tainted by a recent murder, the Cherry Orchard Inn is struggling to attract guests―until celebrated portrait painter Silvia Lumiere books a room for the summer. Whitney Bloom, the inn’s new manager, can’t believe her good luck. Between her scrumptious cherry scones and the painter’s remarkable talent, the inn swiftly becomes the center of the Cherry Cove art scene.

However, all is not the bowl of cherries it appears. There’s a rotten core in the portrait painter that only Whitney and her friends can see. And just as Whitney’s baking skills and patience are pushed to their limits, another death occurs at the inn. With all fingers pointing at her, Whitney realizes it will take all her cherry-tastic talents to bake her way out of this one.

Includes recipes!

I didn’t realize this was the second book of the series and I haven’t read the first one yet.

The Ones I cant wait to read

1)The Orphan Thief by Glynis Peters

Description

From the internationally bestselling author of The Secret Orphan

When all seems lost…

As Hitler’s bombs rain down on a battered and beleaguered Britain, Ruby Shadwell is dealt the most devastating blow – her entire family lost during the Coventry Blitz.

Hope still survives…

Alone and with the city in chaos, Ruby is determined to survive this war and rebuild her life. And a chance encounter with street urchin Tommy gives Ruby just the chance she needs. 

And love will overcome…

Because Tommy brings with him Canadian Sergeant Jean-Paul Clayton. Jean-Paul is drawn to Ruby and wants to help her, but Ruby cannot bear another loss. Can love bloom amidst the ruins? Or will the war take Ruby’s last chance at happiness too?

This is a sweeping historical romance filled with hope and resilience, perfect for fans of Christina Baker Kline, Soraya M. Lane and Shirley Dickson.

2)You Too? 25 Voices Share Their #MeToo Storie by Janet Gurtler

Description

A timely and heartfelt collection of essays inspired by the #MeToo movement, edited by acclaimed author Janet Gurtler. Featuring Beth Revis, Mackenzi Lee, Ellen Hopkins, Saundra Mitchell, Jennifer Brown, Cheryl Rainfield and many more.

When #MeToo went viral, Janet Gurtler was among the millions of people who began to reflect on her past experiences. Things she had reluctantly accepted—male classmates groping her at recess, harassment at work—came back to her in startling clarity. She needed teens to know what she had not: that no young person should be subject to sexual assault, or made to feel unsafe, less than or degraded.

You Too? was born out of that need. By turns thoughtful and explosive, these personal stories encompass a wide range of experiences and serve as a reminder to readers that they, too, have a voice worthy of being heard—and that only by listening and working together can we create change.

3) Home Erring and Outcast Girls by Julie Kibler

Description

An emotionally raw and resonant story of love, loss, and the enduring power of friendship, following the lives of two young women connected by a home for “fallen girls,” and inspired by historical events.
 
Home for Erring and Outcast Girls deftly reimagines the wounded women who came seeking a second chance and a sustaining hope.—Lisa Wingate, author of Before We Were Yours

In turn-of-the-20th century Texas, the Berachah Home for the Redemption and Protection of Erring Girls is an unprecedented beacon of hope for young women consigned to the dangerous poverty of the streets by birth, circumstance, or personal tragedy. Built in 1903 on the dusty outskirts of Arlington, a remote dot between Dallas and Fort Worth’s red-light districts, the progressive home bucks public opinion by offering faith, training, and rehabilitation to prostitutes, addicts, unwed mothers, and “ruined” girls without forcibly separating mothers from children. When Lizzie Bates and Mattie McBride meet there—one sick and abused, but desperately clinging to her young daughter, the other jilted by the beau who fathered her ailing son—they form a friendship that will see them through unbearable loss, heartbreak, difficult choices, and ultimately, diverging paths.

A century later, Cate Sutton, a reclusive university librarian, uncovers the hidden histories of the two troubled women as she stumbles upon the cemetery on the home’s former grounds and begins to comb through its archives in her library. Pulled by an indescribable connection, what Cate discovers about their stories leads her to confront her own heartbreaking past, and to reclaim the life she thought she’d let go forever. With great pathos and powerful emotional resonance, Home for Erring and Outcast Girls explores the dark roads that lead us to ruin, and the paths we take to return to ourselves.

4) A Death in Harlem A Novel by Karla FC Holloway

Description

In A Death in Harlem, famed scholar Karla Holloway weaves a mystery in the bon vivant world of the Harlem Renaissance. Taking as her point of departure the tantalizingly ambiguous “death by misadventure” at the climax of Nella Larsen’s 1929 best-selling novel Passing, Holloway takes readers back to the sunlit boulevards and shaded sidestreets of Jazz Age New York. A murder there will test the mettle, resourcefulness, and intuition of Harlem’s first “colored” policeman, Weldon Haynie Thomas.

Clear glass towers rising in Manhattan belie a city where people are often not what they seem. For some here, identity is a performance of passing—passing for another race, for another class, for someone safe to trust. Thomas’s investigation illuminates the societies and secret societies, the intricate code of manners, the world of letters, and the broad social currents of 1920’s Harlem.

A Death in Harlem is an exquisitely crafted, briskly paced, and impeccably stylish journey back to a time still remembered as a peak of American glamour. It introduces Holloway as a fresh voice in storytelling and Weldon Haynie Thomas as an endearing and unforgettable detective.

THE AUTHOR

Karla FC Holloway is James. B. Duke Professor (Emerita) of English and Law at Duke University, where her research and teaching included African American literary and cultural studies, bioethics, gender, and law. She is the author of eight books, including Passed On: African-American Mourning Stories, Private Bodies/Public Texts: Race, Gender, and a Cultural Bioethics, and Legal Fictions: Constituting Race, Composing Literatures.

6 thoughts on “My Netgally Shelf

  1. I’ve been trying to stay away from Netgalley since it always gets me in over my head with books to read, but I will say that I just adore Emily Ley!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s