Human Flesh by Nick Clausen review

They never caught it
 

During the winter of 2017, a series of strange occurrences took place in a small town of northern Maine. A rational explanation for what happened has still not been presented. Now, for the first time, all the available written evidence is being released to the public from what is commonly know as the Freyston case.

Human Flesh was originally published in Danish to great reviews, and is now available in English. This dark winter horror story will also satisfy crime lovers, as the plot is told through written evidence in a fictitious murder case. For fans of Hannibal Lecter and Pet Sematary.
 

REVIEWS

“Great, mysterious and creepy … I couldn’t put it down”
★★★★★ Adventures of a Book Nerd

“All the planning it must have taken to put the story together is impressive. And the effect is enormous. It gave me chills and I still feel it”
★★★★★ Bookish Love Affair
 

EXCERPT

Evidence no. 4: Entry from the blog My Otha Life by Otha Cochran

[…] I suddenly realized just how cold the house was, and I noticed the window being ajar, the curtain swaying in the draft. I quickly closed it and felt the radiator: completely cold. I had no idea why Grandpa would have shut off the heat and opened the window.

Upstairs I could hear Hugh still calling and opening and closing doors, obviously looking for Grandpa. My sense of dread increased still further, and I was just about to turn around and go upstairs when my eye caught something through the French door into the dining room. It was dark in there, too, but the windows were visible as bright rectangles, and in front of one of them stood a tall, gangly figure. It kind of looked like Grandpa, except I didn’t remember him being that thin.

I went and opened the door, but the man by the window didn’t move as I entered the room. I could tell he had his back to me, as though he had gone to look out the window and then fallen into a trance.

“Grandpa?” I asked low, not wanting to scare him.

No reaction.

Suddenly, I got a very strange feeling that the man wasn’t my Grandpa. I know it’s totally silly—I mean, who else could it be?

I squinted my eyes in an effort to see his features more clearly, and I realized to my astonishment he was naked except for a pair of white undies.

I’m not kidding. I know I should have felt embarrassed, but for some reason it just made me even more uneasy. Something was definitely not right.

“Grandpa?” I said, louder.

Still, the man didn’t stir. I noticed the faint whisper of the wind blowing through the room, and I noticed the windows in here were also standing ajar.

Finally, it dawned on me to turn on the lights. I can’t believe I didn’t think of it earlier, but the situation was just so unreal and I was really confused and scared. I found the switch and flicked it.

At long last, the man by the window reacted and started turning slowly around. I gaped at him. It was my Grandpa all right, but I almost didn’t recognize him. His cheeks were hollow, his lips thin and dry, the skin around his eyes was very dark, the eyes themselves were really haunting, being way too dark, like almost black, as though the pupils had grown to blot out the white.

There was something strange above his head, too, although it must have been the shadows playing a trick on me—but for a brief second, I could have sworn Grandpa had a couple of branches sticking out of the top of his skull. Yeah, I know. It sounds completely bonkers.

It was all over in a blink of an eye, then Grandpa looked exactly like I remembered him—the only odd thing about him being the missing clothes.

“Well, if it isn’t Otha,” he said, his face lighting up. “I was just wondering when you guys would show up.” […]

My Thoughts

I just meet this young author today, he had posted a picture of this book on a Facebook group and it immediately called my attention. So I began to read it and let me tell you I couldn’t put it down. It had me hooked from the first page until the last one. My heart was doing summersaults the whole entire time. I loved the thrill. It was disturbing and supper scary just the way I like my horror stories. This is my first book by this author and I can tell you it wont be my last. I truly enjoyed it.

I will give this book 5/5 bookstacks!

About the Author

Nick Clausen

Began writing at the age of 18 with a promise of doing 1,000 words a day until he got a book published. Kept that promise 18 months and 13 manuscripts later. Done almost 30 books since then. Lived as a full-time writer since 2017. Began translating his books into English in 2019. Prefer horror, fantasy and sci-fi. Reside in Denmark. Is inspired by the stories of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman and Thomas Harris.

6 thoughts on “Human Flesh by Nick Clausen review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s